2015 Stowe Country Club Crowns Champions

The annual 36 hole Club Championship was held over the weekend with 60 golfers vying for the titles in five divisions – Men, Ladies, Senior, Super Senior, and Junior.

Saturday saw the event get underway with the men who had the largest division; the low round went to Greg Gramas with a 76, followed closely by Scott Hartigan and SGA President Tyler Mumley who both scoring 78’s. The Senior division followed with low score going to Sal Vespa who carded a solid 82, followed by Bill Schaaf 85, and Paul Thabault 87. The Ladies had some excellent scoring with incumbent champion Cynthia Bork leading with an 84, followed closely by Jenna Wood who shot 85 and Barbara Kay who shot 92. The Super Seniors were led by Clyde Burdick’s score of 80, followed by John Polakowski at 81 and Walter Towslee at 84. The Juniors were led by Flynn Kearney who shot 79 and Clark Brown at 84.

On Sunday, the field teed off in the morning to see who would ultimately take home the titles and the theme of the day was Saturday’s leaders struggle to maintain their advantages. The Junior division saw Flynn Kearney and Clark Brown battle it out for the title with Brown shooting an excellent 77 to take home the victory. The Super Seniors division saw Clyde Burdick maintain his advantage and narrowly edge out Walt Towslee; with the net title going to John Ahern. In the Senior division, both past Champion Bill Schaaf and Paul Thabault came from behind, with Schaaf narrowly beating out Paul Thabault to take home another title; the Net award in the senior division went to Tom McNair. The Ladies also saw a player come from behind, with Jenna Wood’s strong Sunday score to edge out Cynthia Borck by one stroke. The Net award went to Robi Hodge.

Nowhere was there more drama than in the Men’s division with only Scott Hartigan holding his place in the field. Strong play helped a number of players make up some ground; including past champion Mark Sherwin, who shot the low round of the tournament with a 74, as well as two-time past champion, Jordon Plummer who carded a 78 to vault to a tie for 1st with Hartigan at the end of regulation play. It took three extra holes with a large crowd watching closely to separate the eventual leader and now three time repeat champion Jordon Plummer.
Full results click HERE

A special congratulations goes out to Paul Thabault who had a hole-in-one of the 4th hole.